Skip to product information
1 of 1

Matthew Sweet "Girlfriend" Expanded Edition CD/SACD (SHIPPING NOW!)

Matthew Sweet "Girlfriend" Expanded Edition CD/SACD (SHIPPING NOW!)

Regular price $ 30.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 30.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Original Release Date: 1991

  • Original Label: Zoo Entertainment

    • Artist-Approved Expanded Edition
    • 6 Bonus Tracks Not Included On Original Vinyl Release!
    • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
    • Hybrid CD/SACD Plays On All CD and SACD Players
    • Super Jewel Box Packaging
View full details

"... the holy grail of power pop." -Tiny Mix Tapes

"Matthew Sweet's third album is a remarkable artistic breakthrough ... thanks to his exceptional songwriting, the album is a fresh, original interpretation of a classic sound." - Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

Matthew Sweet’s essential 1991 power-pop tour-de-force gets its high-res due on Intervention’s Expanded Edition release. In addition to including the original CD release’s 15 tracks, this hybrid CD/SACD includes three demo tracks not included on the original release- “Good Friend,” “Superdeformed” and “Teenage Female.”

15 of the 18 tracks on this remastered Expanded Edition are Mastered Direct-to-DSD from the Original Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The last three tracks are Matthew Sweet’s own demo recordings made to DAT. Intervention’s remaster delivers maximum bass and dynamics. There are big, fat guitar tones and controlled but very expressive bass and a massive soundstage. Girlfriend is not only a 90’s classic but an amazingly pure and simply tremendous rock recording!

1 Divine Intervention 05:37
2 I've Been Waiting 03:36
3 Girlfriend 03:40
4 Looking At The Sun 04:17
5 Winona 05:01
6 Evangeline 05:07
7 Day For Night 02:55
8 Thought I Knew You 02:58
9 You Don't Love Me 05:22
10 I Wanted To Tell You 04:31
11 Don't Go 03:26
12 Your Sweet Voice 04:36
13 Does She Talk? 03:27
14 Holy War 03:25
15 Nothing Lasts 03:33
Bonus Tracks
1 Good Friend (Demo) 03:36
2 Superdeformed (Demo) 04:09
3 Teenage Female (Demo) 03:54

Release Notes

Format: Hybrid CD/SACD Plays On All CD and SACD Players

IR Catalog: IR-SCD12

UPC: 680270758049