Skip to product information
1 of 6

Matthew Sweet "Altered Beast" Expanded Edition CD/SACD (SHIPPING NOW!)

Matthew Sweet "Altered Beast" Expanded Edition CD/SACD (SHIPPING NOW!)

Regular price $ 30.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 30.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Artist-Approved Expanded Edition
  • 6 Bonus Tracks Not Included On Original Release!
  • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
  • Hybrid CD/SACD Plays On All CD and SACD Players
  • Super Jewel Box Packaging
View full details

"Altered Beast is a brilliant, ambitious creation ..." -Rarebird's

The middle entry in Matthew Sweet’s holy 90’s Power-Pop Trilogy, Altered Beast is a sprawling, multi-dimensional power-pop trip finally presented at its artistic fullest. Sweet was a songwriting machine in this period, and in doing source research a third analog master reel with 6 extra tracks was discovered. Intervention’s Expanded Edition CD/SACD is a 21-track Beast that shows a master songwriter at his prolific best.

While many of these extra tracks were used as B-sides on CD singles and saw release on other compilations, Intervention’s Expanded Edition places these songs in the context they they belong, with the album for which they were recorded. Hearing the quality of tracks like “Superdeformed” one wonders how Altered Beast wasn’t originally a bigger CD set!

Altered Beast is Mastered Direct-to-DSD from the Original Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The Master Tapes are 30ips 1/2″ analog reels, and the six bonus tracks are on their own reel. Intervention’s mastering opens up the sound stage and for the very first time presenting this amazing recording will FULL bass extension and dynamic power! The result is the best-sounding Altered Beast that’s ever been or ever will be! This is simply a fabulous-sounding rock recording that’s big, bold and super fun to listen to.

1 Dinosaur Act 04:05
2 Devil With The Green Eyes 04:43
3 The Ugly Truth 03:18
4 Time Capsule 03:56
5 Someone To Pull The Trigger 03:55
6 Knowing People 04:25
7 Life Without You 02:18
1 Intro 00:46
2 Ugly Truth Rock 02:58
3 Do It Again 03:33
4 In Too Deep 03:54
5 Reaching Out 04:00
6 Falling 04:50
7 What Do You Know? 04:27
8 Evergreen 04:23
1 Born In Sin 04:05
2 Ultrasuede 03:56
3 Superdeformed 03:53
4 Speed Of Light 05:05
5 Thing 03:17
6 Bovine Connection 01:42

Release Notes

Format: Hybrid CD/SACD Plays On All CD and SACD Players

IR Catalog: IR-SCD14

UPC: 680270758032