Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Church "Starfish" Expanded Edition 180G LP (SHIPPING NOW!)

The Church "Starfish" Expanded Edition 180G LP (SHIPPING NOW!)

Regular price $ 45.00 USD
Regular price $ 45.00 USD Sale price $ 45.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Artist-Approved 2X LP Expanded Edition
  • 8 Bonus Tracks Not Included On Original Vinyl Release!
  • 100% Analog Mastering FROM THE ORIGINAL MASTER TAPES!
  • Mastering By Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
  • Ultra-Quiet 180-Gram Vinyl Pressed At RTI
  • Beautifully Restored "Old Style" Gatefold Jacket Printed By Stoughton
View full details


"... everything about this set defines how reissues should be produced ... Chris Bellman cut lacquers at Bernie Grundman Mastering and the lacquers were taken immediately over to RTI for plating. Gotta Groove in Cleveland pressed on 180g black vinyl. The pressings I received were 100% perfect in every way."

(July 21, 2023)

- Michael Fremer

"Under the Milky Way," still one of the most haunting and elegant songs ever to make the Top 40." -All Music

Centered Horizontal Line

The Church’s Starfish is a dreamy, atmospheric masterpiece, guitar-driven alt-rock before alt-rock was a term. It includes the timeless smash hit “Under the Milky Way,” and “Reptile,” both First Wave staples.

Intervention’s 2X 180-Gram LP, Artist-Approved Expanded Edition is 18-tracks total, including 8 amazing bonus tracks that were not on the original LP. These bonus tracks kick off with wonderful acoustic versions of “Under the Milky Way” and “Antenna.” The other tracks are so strong that it’s very apparent that Starfish could have been a potent double LP.

Starfish is 100% Analog Mastered with the original repertoire cut directly from THE Original Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. Intervention’s cut expands the original 10-song repertoire to three vinyl sides opening up the already massive soundstage and presenting this amazing recording with FULL bass extension and dynamic power. All of the 8 bonus tracks are 100% Analog Mastered from separate tape reels assembled by Ryan K. Smith.

The 180-gram LPs are ultra-quiet, pressed at boutique press, RTI in Camarillo, CA. Intervention replaces its stampers every 500 copies so every pressing is is a hot stamper.

Starfish’s album art was lovingly restored by Intervention’s Art Director Tom Vadakan, and the original inner sleeve here is printed as the interior of a gorgeous gatefold jacket. The jacket is an “Old Style” gatefold made by wizards at Stoughton printing in LA. It’s printed on heavy stock and film-laminated for superior color depth, beauty and durability. The center labels are printed by Dorado.

Side One
1 Destination 05:52
2 Under the Milky Way 04:58
3 Blood Money 04:25
Side Two
1 Lost 04:48
2 North, South, East and West 04:49
3 Spark 03:45
4 Antenna 03:50
Side Three
1 Reptile 04:56
2 A New Season 02:57
3 Hotel Womb 05:40
Side Three Bonus Tracks
1 Under the Milky Way (Acoustic) 04:08
2 Antenna (Acoustic) 03:45
Side Four Bonus Tracks
1 Frozen and Distant 03:58
2 Texas Moon 05:45
3 Anna Miranda 03:03
4 Afterlife 04:13
5 We Both Know Why You're Here 02:20
6 Perfect Child 02:54

Release Notes

Format: 2x 180-Gram LPs @ 33RPM

IR Catalog Number: IR-027

UPC: 707129301567

Jacket: "Old Style" Gatefold Printed at Stoughton on Heavy Stock, Film Laminated